Vermont

Optometry Licensing and CE Requirements for 2020

Source: https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/030

Information

When is my continuing education (CE) deadline in Vermont?

As an Optometrist in Vermont, you must complete and submit all of your CE requirements before you apply for your license renewal. You must renew your license every 2 years by July 31th. The next license renewal period ends July 31st, 2020.

What are my continuing education (CE) requirements in Vermont?

Before renewing your optometry license, you are required to complete 40 hours(TPA) or 20 hours(Non-TPA) of approved CE in total. If your license type is TPA, you must have a specific number of hours covering topics such as ocular disease, ocular pharmacology, or pharmacology. For more details, please refer to our table below.

Table scrolls horizontally
  TPA Non-TPA
Ocular Disease, Ocular Pharmacology, or Pharmacology 20 hours  
Corrospondence courses Up to 2 hours Up to 2 hours
Total 40 20
Notes

Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee, provided that the person applying for renewal completes at least 20 hours of continuing education, approved by the board, during the preceding two-year period. If the applicant has a special endorsement for the use of pharmaceutical agents as provided in section 1729 of this title, the applicant shall, during the preceding two-year period, complete at least 40 hours of continuing education, approved by the board, of which at least 20 hours shall be related to the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. The board may specify particular areas of study which must be completed to satisfy the requirements of this section. The board may, by rule, adopt continuing education requirements for those who renew their licenses after less than a full two-year period. (Added 1987, No. 236 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 1993, No. 216 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2009, No. 35, § 31.)

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the continuing education requirements to renew my license in Vermont?

As an Optometrist licensed in Vermont, the required CE changes based on your type of license (TPA vs Non-TPA).

For Optometrists with a TPA license, you are required to have 40 hours of CE in a renewal period. Within those hours, you are to have 20 hours of CE of related to ocular disease, ocular pharmacology, or pharmacology.

For Optometrists with a Non-TPA license, you are required to have 20 hours of CE in a renewal period.

When do I have to renew my Optometrist license in Vermont?

The Vermont Board of Optometry requires that you renew your license every 2 years (on even numbered years), by July 31st.

How many hours of CE can Optometrists from Vermont take online?

In Vermont, Optometrists can have 2 hours of CE from online sources.

Does Vermont accept COPE-approved CE?

Vermont accepts COPE-approved CE, which includes all CE courses provided by Optocase.

Document last modified: 2020-06-24

Login

Continue to your Optocase account.

By continuing you agree to Optocase's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Reset Password

Enter email to receive a new password.

Join Optocase

Setup a free account to join Optocase now.

By creating an account you agree to Optocase's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.